Starting Measurements

October 27, 2009

Alrighty,  I figured I should log my measurements for reference.  I took my measurements on the morning of Load Day 1.

Right Arm – 13
Left Arm – 13
Upper Chest – 42
Chest – 45
Waist – 37.7
Hips – 46
Right Thigh – 25.7
Left Thigh – 24.5
Right Calf – 16
Left Calf – 16


VLCD Day 1: -4.2

October 27, 2009
IMG_0031

VLCD Day 1 - Lunch

I am happy to report that after VLCD Day 1 I am down 4.2 pounds!  How incredible is that!

My stats:

Post-load Starting weight: 203.8
Change: -4.2
Current weight: 199.6

Since I have never been over 200 in my life (until I quit smoking), I’m quite happy that I’m back into 100’s.  Physically I feel great.  I have not really had any hunger.   No problems with my blood sugar, which was a great concern to me because under normal circumstances and “normal” diets, I have blood sugar issues.  My stomach feels empty, but not hungry.  Yesterday I had coffee and tea for breakfast (no sweetener).  Around 9:30 I had 1/2 of an apple and 1 grissini (after I ate that I was full lol).  At 12:00 I had 100 grams of chicken (weighed raw) and 2 cups of sliced baby cucumbers with an apple cider vinegar dressing that I whipped up (see the picture above).  My lunch was less than 150 calories, which is pretty amazing considering the quantity.  I found it quite satisfying.  At 3:00 I had the other 1/2 of my apple.  Still no hunger.

After I left work I went to Costco – I needed to get some bottled water and fresh spinach.  I managed to bypass all the tasting samples they had – I didn’t really struggle with it because, again, I just wasn’t hungry.  Yay!!  For dinner I had baked tilapia and cabbage.  I didn’t eat my 2nd apple or grissini.

So far, so good.  I’m very pleased.

Oh, if you’re keeping track, you’ll note that I actually was down .2 pounds after the load days.  I was a little freaked out over the fact that I lost .2 pounds after loading (I totally expected a weight gain), so I calculated my calories and fat intake for load day 2.  I was at around 4000 calories and almost 200 grams of fat.  Gross!  I did not load on sweets though, I focused on high protein, high fat foods.  Go figure.